News Room

TeCMEN Committee to Host Industry Day - 08/16/2017

Special to the Daily News FORT WALTON BEACH — In an effort to spotlight the diverse capabilities that exist among the area’s technical businesses, the Economic Develop...

Building For The Future - 07/10/2017

Building For The Future Looking beyond beaches and the military to boost economic development BY LINDA KLEINDIENST ~ Article written by 850 Magazine   Okaloosa and Walton countie...

The EDC is a non-profit private-public partnership serving as Okaloosa County’s primary economic development organization.

A not-for-profit organization exists to provide a public service to the community rather than to make a profit... the primary objective of the organization is something other than making money. Non-profit organizations typically rely on contributions to fund the services they provide.

The EDC originated in 1982 as The Committee of 100 of Okaloosa County, Florida, Incorporated. In October 1987 the Committee was recognized by the Internal Revenue Service as a 501(c)(6) Not-for-Profit. In June 1989 the members and directors, under the laws of the State of Florida, unanimously voted to change the Committee's name to The Economic Development Council of Okaloosa County, Florida, Incorporated.

The EDC's primary objectives are:

  • Facilitate existing industry growth, diversity, retention and expansion
  • Attract and recruit targeted industries
  • Champion the development of a technically skilled and available workforce
As a non-profit organization, the EDC is governed by an Executive Committee and the Business Leadership Council, consisting of approximately 60 individuals representing both private companies and public entities. The Council operates by a set of Bylaws and a Code of Ethics. The staff consists of three full-time employees and two independent contractors on a part-time basis. The EDC is assisted in accomplishing its objectives through the volunteers of standing committees and ad hoc task forces.

EDC Chairmen
Fiscal Year 2016 Chairman Greg Britton, Fort Walton Machining
Fiscal Yr. 2015 Ron Moliterno Fiscal Yr. 2003 Joe Brewster
Fiscal Yr. 2014 Angela Balent Fiscal Yr. 2002 Roger Hall
Fiscal Yr. 2013 Jim Heald Fiscal Yr. 2001 Gloria Frazier
Fiscal Yr. 2012 Dr. David Goetsch Fiscal Yr. 2000 Calvin Wilson
Fiscal Yr. 2011 Dale Peterson Fiscal Yr. 1999 Herb Tinsley
Fiscal Yr. 2010 Gordon Eldridge Fiscal Yr. 1998 Freddy Carr
Fiscal Yr. 2009 Dr. Paul Hsu Fiscal Yr. 1997 Dr. David Goetsch
Fiscal Yr. 2008 Cindy Frakes Fiscal Yr. 1996 Dick Manley
Fiscal Yr. 2007 Chuck Shanklin Fiscal Yr. 1995 Judy Byrne-Riley
Fiscal Yr. 2006 Fred Leopold Fiscal Yr. 1994 Steve Riggs
Fiscal Yr. 2005 Gene Smith Fiscal Yr. 1993 Dr. Bob Richburg
Fiscal Yr. 2004 Tracy Conerly Fiscal Yr. 1992 Don Anchors

Nathan Sparks, CEcD
Executive Director

Email This Person
Caroline McCoy
Director of Business Expansion

Email This Person
Kay Rasmussen, CEcD
Associate Director/DSI Manager

Email This Person
Jennifer Martinez
Administrative Assistant

Email This Person
Shirley Karcher

Email This Person
Linda Sumblin
TeCMEN Manager

Email This Person
Sal Nodjomian
TCPI Facilitator

Email This Person


Okaloosa County is host to a wide array of businesses and industries. From Tourism to Aerospace & Defense, our diversity reflects th...
Read More


The Technology Coast Manufacturing and Engineering Network, TeCMEN, was established by the Economic Development Council of Ok...
Read More